The Durham Museum

 


Created by The Durham’s curatorial team, A Shopper’s Paradise: The Brandeis Department Store celebrates one of Omaha’s retail giants. The Brandeis Department Store towered ten-stories over the corner of 16th and Douglas streets for 73 years. It was a paradise of shopping with 500,000 square feet of floor space filled with every product imaginable.


In the Brandeis Store’s heyday, it was the king of downtown shopping. Every day sh
oppers crammed the aisles between display cases and clothing racks. They filled an in-store restaurant, while workers filled a cafeteria. Organizations threw their Christmas parties at the downtown store or met for meetings. The huge store drew sightseers who purchased Brandeis souvenirs.

While the
store closed in 1980, it had long before secured its place in Omaha’s history. It still speaks to the importance the city’s downtown once played in the daily lives of Omahans.

The exhibit includes 26 photographs of the Brandeis family and the downtown Brandeis Store and objects from The Durham Museum’s collection such as Emil Brandeis’ pocket watch. The pocket watch was with him when he died on the maiden voyage of the doomed RMS Titanic.

A Shopper’s Paradise: The Brandeis Department Store will be open February 18 through October 14, 2012 at The Durham Museum.


A special film, The Brandeis Story, will be played in the Mutual of Omaha Theater in support of A Shopper’s Paradise; The Brandeis Department Store. This film was produced by the Alan & Marcia Baer Foundation & The Nebraska Jewish Historical Society.

Saturday, April 7 at 2PM
Tuesday, April 10 at 6PM
Sunday, April 15 at 2PM
Saturday, May 5 at 2PM
Tuesday, May 8 at 6PM
Sunday, May 20 at 2PM
Saturday, June 2 at 2PM
Tuesday, June 12 at 6PM
Sunday, June 17 at 2PM
Saturday, July 7 at 2PM
Tuesday, July 10 at 6PM
Saturday, August 4 at 2PM
Tuesday, August 14 at 6PM
Sunday, August 19 at 2PM
Saturday, September 1 at 2PM
Tuesday, September 11 at 6PM
Sunday, September 16 at 2PM